UPDATE, 27 August: print orders through our website have now fully re-opened for delivery worldwide! Click here for more information.
Cressida
Paperback, 96 pages ISBN: 9781854594549Publication Date:
13 Apr 2000
Size: 197mm x 129mm£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)
EPUB, 96 pages ISBN: 9781780013510Publication Date:
14 Oct 2014
£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)
First Staged:
Almeida Theatre in the West End, 2000

Cressida

By Nicholas Wright

Paperback £10.99£8.79

EPUB £10.99£8.79

A comedy drama set in the seedily glamorous world of 17th-century London theatre.

John Shank is an actor, talent-scout and trainer of boy players in the 1630s, when women's roles are still played by precocious boys. Up to his eyes in debt, Shank's only hope of escaping destitution is an unpromising 14-year-old would-be, Stephen Hammerton. Can he train up Stephen to be the new star of the London stage?

Nicholas Wright's play Cressida was first performed at the Albery Theatre, London, in 2000, in a production by the Almeida Theatre.

Press Quotes

'Delightful, light-minded comedy of manners'

Evening Standard
Paperback, 96 pages ISBN: 9781854594549Publication Date:
13 Apr 2000
Size: 197mm x 129mm£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)
EPUB, 96 pages ISBN: 9781780013510Publication Date:
14 Oct 2014
£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)

Also by Nicholas Wright:

The Slaves of Solitude (stage version)
The Custom of the Country
Vincent in Brixton
Regeneration (stage version)
One Fine Day
His Dark Materials (stage version)
Lulu
Three Sisters (Chekhov/Wright)
Rattigan's Nijinsky
Mrs Klein
John Gabriel Borkman
The Last of the Duchess
Treetops
Travelling Light
The Reporter
8 Hotels
Nicholas Wright: Five Plays
Naked
Thérèse Raquin (Zola/Wright)
The Desert Air

Go to author page...

Similar Titles
A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakesp...
A rich selection of work by leading playwright Nicholas Wright, introduced by the playwright.
A moving portrait of the young Vincent van Gogh - a hit in the West End and on Broadway.
A fascinating, witty and characteristically exuberant dramatic exploration of the Shakespeare authorship debate.
Ian Kelly’s riotously funny play, based on his award-winning biography of Samuel Foote, explores our obsession with c...
Jessica Swale's play Nell Gwynn charts the rise of an unlikely heroine, from her roots in Coal Yard Alley to...