UPDATE: due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are currently only accepting ebook orders through our website. Click here for more information.
Cressida
Paperback, 96 pages ISBN: 9781854594549Publication Date:
13 Apr 2000
Size: 197mm x 129mm£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)
EPUB, 96 pages ISBN: 9781780013510Publication Date:
14 Oct 2014
£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)
First Staged:
Almeida Theatre in the West End, 2000

Cressida

By Nicholas Wright

Paperback £10.99£8.79

EPUB £10.99£8.79

A comedy drama set in the seedily glamorous world of 17th-century London theatre.

John Shank is an actor, talent-scout and trainer of boy players in the 1630s, when women's roles are still played by precocious boys. Up to his eyes in debt, Shank's only hope of escaping destitution is an unpromising 14-year-old would-be, Stephen Hammerton. Can he train up Stephen to be the new star of the London stage?

Nicholas Wright's play Cressida was first performed at the Albery Theatre, London, in 2000, in a production by the Almeida Theatre.

Press Quotes

'Delightful, light-minded comedy of manners'

Evening Standard
Paperback, 96 pages ISBN: 9781854594549Publication Date:
13 Apr 2000
Size: 197mm x 129mm£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)
EPUB, 96 pages ISBN: 9781780013510Publication Date:
14 Oct 2014
£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)

Also by Nicholas Wright:

8 Hotels
Lulu
Rattigan's Nijinsky
Nicholas Wright: Five Plays
The Last of the Duchess
John Gabriel Borkman
The Custom of the Country
Mrs Klein
Naked
Vincent in Brixton
His Dark Materials (stage version)
The Slaves of Solitude (stage version)
The Desert Air
Travelling Light
Regeneration (stage version)
Treetops
One Fine Day
The Reporter
Thérèse Raquin (Zola/Wright)
Three Sisters (Chekhov/Wright)

Go to author page...

Similar Titles
A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakesp...
A rich selection of work by leading playwright Nicholas Wright, introduced by the playwright.
A moving portrait of the young Vincent van Gogh - a hit in the West End and on Broadway.
A fascinating, witty and characteristically exuberant dramatic exploration of the Shakespeare authorship debate.
Ian Kelly’s riotously funny play, based on his award-winning biography of Samuel Foote, explores our obsession with c...
Jessica Swale's play Nell Gwynn charts the rise of an unlikely heroine, from her roots in Coal Yard Alley to...