Cressida

Cast: 8m

Staging: 2 interior sets

Amateur rights performance fee: £75 per performance (plus VAT where applicable)

Paperback, 96 pages ISBN: 9781854594549Publication Date:
13 Apr 2000
Size: 197mm x 129mm£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)
EPUB, 96 pages ISBN: 9781780013510Publication Date:
14 Oct 2014
£10.99 £8.80You save £2.19 (20%)
First Staged:
Almeida Theatre in the West End, 2000

Cressida

By Nicholas Wright

Paperback £10.99£8.79

EPUB £10.99£8.80

A comedy drama set in the seedily glamorous world of 17th-century London theatre.

John Shank is an actor, talent-scout and trainer of boy players in the 1630s, when women's roles are still played by precocious boys. Up to his eyes in debt, Shank's only hope of escaping destitution is an unpromising 14-year-old would-be, Stephen Hammerton. Can he train up Stephen to be the new star of the London stage?

Nicholas Wright's play Cressida was first performed at the Albery Theatre, London, in 2000, in a production by the Almeida Theatre.

Press Quotes

'Delightful, light-minded comedy of manners'

Evening Standard

Cast: 8m

Staging:2 interior sets

Amateur rights performance fee: £75 per performance (plus VAT where applicable)

Paperback, 96 pages ISBN: 9781854594549Publication Date:
13 Apr 2000
Size: 197mm x 129mm£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)
EPUB, 96 pages ISBN: 9781780013510Publication Date:
14 Oct 2014
£10.99 £8.80You save £2.19 (20%)

Also by Nicholas Wright:

The Slaves of Solitude (stage version)
8 Hotels
Travelling Light
Three Sisters (National Theatre version)
One Fine Day
Mrs Klein
His Dark Materials (stage version)
Nicholas Wright: Five Plays
Vincent in Brixton
The Desert Air
Naked
John Gabriel Borkman
The Last of the Duchess
Rattigan's Nijinsky
Treetops
Thérèse Raquin (National Theatre version)
The Custom of the Country
Lulu
Regeneration (stage version)
The Reporter

Go to author page...

Similar Titles
A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakesp...
A moving portrait of the young Vincent van Gogh - a hit in the West End and on Broadway.
A fascinating, witty and characteristically exuberant dramatic exploration of the Shakespeare authorship debate.
Ian Kelly’s riotously funny play, based on his award-winning biography of Samuel Foote, explores our obsession with c...
Jessica Swale's play Nell Gwynn charts the rise of an unlikely heroine, from her roots in Coal Yard Alley to...