The Convict's Opera
Paperback, 128 pages ISBN: 9781848420151Publication Date:
2 Oct 2008
Size: 198mm x 129mm£8.99 £7.19You save £1.80 (20%)
First Staged:
Out of Joint & Sydney Theatre Company at Sydney Theatre, 2008; UK tour, 2009

The Convict's Opera

By Stephen Jeffreys

Paperback £8.99£7.19

Stephen Jeffreys' The Convict's Opera reimagines the world's first ever musical, The Beggar's Opera, as a performance on board a creaking convict ship bound for Australia.

To pass the time on their journey to Australia, the convicts put on John Gay's musical satire, The Beggar's Opera, introducing us to treacherous highwayman MacHeath and sweet Polly Peachum as they juggle love and deceit in the dirty underbelly of eighteenth-century London. It's a world the convicts have left far behind, and will probably never see again.

The Convict's Opera was first performed by Out of Joint and Sydney Theatre Company at Sydney Theatre in 2008, followed by a UK tour in 2009.

Press Quotes

'Part historical romp, part Brechtian jukebox musical, Stephen Jeffreys's script is often times funny and beautifully written'

Sun-Herald, Australia
Paperback, 128 pages ISBN: 9781848420151Publication Date:
2 Oct 2008
Size: 198mm x 129mm£8.99 £7.19You save £1.80 (20%)

Also by Stephen Jeffreys:

The Clink
Interruptions
A Going Concern
Valued Friends
The Libertine (2016 edition)
Finsbury Park
Stephen Jeffreys: Plays
The Libertine
I Just Stopped By To See The Man

Go to author page...

Similar Titles
An invaluable and authoritative guide for anyone studying, teaching or performing Timberlake Wertenbaker's play, ...
A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakesp...
John Gay's bawdy and burlesque pastiche of classical Italian opera, often regarded as the world's first ever musical....
Ian Kelly’s riotously funny play, based on his award-winning biography of Samuel Foote, explores our obsession with c...
Jessica Swale's play Nell Gwynn charts the rise of an unlikely heroine, from her roots in Coal Yard Alley to...
A selection of the best work of Stephen Jeffreys, including his acclaimed plays The Libertine and The Cl...