Stephen Jeffreys: Plays
Paperback, 456 pages ISBN: 9781848427839Publication Date:
12 Jul 2018
Size: 198mm x 129mm£18.99 £15.19You save £3.80 (20%)

Stephen Jeffreys: Plays

By Stephen Jeffreys

Paperback £18.99£15.19

A selection of the best work of Stephen Jeffreys, whose career stretches from an award-winning play at the National Student Drama Festival in 1977 through to an adaptation of The Alchemist for the RSC in 2016.

Included here are his first big success, Valued Friends, a comedy of manners about the property market which won both the Evening Standard and Critics’ Circle Awards; a riotous farce set in the time of Elizabeth I, The Clink, in which a stand-up comedian becomes involved in the political skulduggery surrounding the ailing queen; an autobiographical drama set in 1966, A Going Concern, about a washed-up family business; and Jeffreys’ smash-hit, The Libertine, a Restoration romp about the licentious Earl of Rochester, much revived and also filmed with Johnny Depp.

Rounding off the volume are two previously unpublished plays: Interruptions, inspired by Jeffreys’ interest in the collective aspect of politics and his fascination with the Japanese aesthetic principle of Jo-ha-kyu; and a very likable, short autobiographical monologue, Finsbury Park.

Together, all six plays represent the impressively wide range of topics and styles that Jeffreys can embrace. Above all, each one of them is intensely and enjoyably theatrical to its very core.

‘I had the great pleasure of working with Stephen Jeffreys on his play, The Libertine. Would that all playwrights had his openness, his talent, his hard-headedness, his experience, his enthusiasm, his complexity, and perhaps best of all his talent and interest in eliciting the best in others’ John Malkovich

‘Stephen’s plays always bear the kitemark of unique, handcrafted quality’ Ian Rickson

Paperback, 456 pages ISBN: 9781848427839Publication Date:
12 Jul 2018
Size: 198mm x 129mm£18.99 £15.19You save £3.80 (20%)

Also by Stephen Jeffreys:

I Just Stopped By To See The Man
The Convict's Opera
The Libertine
The Libertine (2016 edition)
A Going Concern
The Clink

Go to author page...

Similar Titles
Stephen Jeffreys' The Convict's Opera reimagines the world's first ever musical, The Beggar's Opera, as a performance...
Four full-length plays and two previously unpublished shorts from the multi-award-winning author of Jerusalem
A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakesp...
An incisive critique of life in an age of excess, based on the true story of John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester. This edi...
Five plays by leading playwright Lucy Kirkwood: Tinderbox, it felt empty when the heart went at first bu...