Strange Interlude
Paperback, 187 pages ISBN: 9781854591036Publication Date:
1 Aug 1991
Size: 198mm x 130mm£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)
First Staged:
John Golden Theater, New York 1928

Strange Interlude

By Eugene O'Neill

Paperback £10.99£8.79

  • Pulitzer Prize for Drama - 1928

A controversial work of extraordinary power, remarkable length (9 acts), and use of asides to express the characters' unspoken thoughts. An outstanding, somewhat Freudian play from one of the twentieth century's most significant writers.

Nina Leeds is a mercurial woman, haunted and broken by the death of her fiancé Gordon Shaw in the First World War – after her father had convinced him to postpone the marriage until his safe return. Always searching for the ever-elusive happiness Shaw gave her, she flirts with the feelings of the various men in her life: her friend Charles Marsden, deeply in love with her, is nevertheless too shy to confess; her new husband Sam Evans, with his own history of mental illness and inability to give her a child; Edmund 'Ned' Darrell, so desperate for her to leave Sam that he gives her the child she craves so badly. And then finally comes little Gordon, the result of Nina's affair with Ned, ignorant of his parentage – the only man she really dotes on whilst the others orbit around her...

Eugene O'Neill's play Strange Interlude opened on Broadway in January 1928, and won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

This edition includes a full introduction, biographical sketch and chronology.

Press Quotes

'Will strike viewers with its modernity... often startingly funny as well as touching... wonderfully gripping'


'Shines with quiet magnificence'

Evening Standard

'Epic, heartbreaking... has a deliciously waspish sense of humour'

Time Out

'Remains an important text... full of theatrical excitement'


'[A] great play... holds its own with the very best of O'Neill's writing'

Exeunt Magazine
Paperback,187 pages ISBN: 9781854591036Publication Date:
1 Aug 1991
Size: 198mm x 130mm£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)

Also by Eugene O'Neill:

Anna Christie
Anna Christie & The Emperor Jones: two plays
The Emperor Jones
The Hairy Ape
Mourning Becomes Electra
The Iceman Cometh
The Great God Brown
The Hairy Ape & All God's Chillun Got Wings
Ah! Wilderness
A Touch of the Poet
A Moon for the Misbegotten
Long Day's Journey into Night
Desire Under the Elms & The Great God Brown
Desire Under the Elms
All God's Chillun Got Wings

Go to author page...

Similar Titles
A moving story of love and loyalty, courage and fear, based on Terence Rattigan's own experiences as a tail gunner in...
A thrilling version of Ibsen's epic play, charting the true odyssey of an astonishing man as he struggles to find spi...
A true modern classic from one of the twentieth century's most significant writers.
A trilogy of full-length plays relocating Aeschylus' Oresteia to New England in 1865, just after the end of...
The last work from one of the twentieth century's most significant writers, continuing the semi-autobiographical cycl...
Written in the early fifties when Rattigan was at the height of his powers, The Deep Blue Sea is a powerful...