The Clink

Cast: 4f 5m doubling, or 4f 12m

Staging: Minimal set

Amateur rights performance fee: £75 per performance (plus VAT where applicable)

Paperback, 90 pages ISBN: 9781854594440Publication Date:
25 Jun 1999
Size: 198mm x 132mm£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)
EPUB, 90 pages ISBN: 9781788500845Publication Date:
2 Aug 2018
£9.99 £7.99You save £2.00 (20%)
First Staged:
Paines Plough at Plymouth Theatre Royal, 1990

The Clink

By Stephen Jeffreys

Paperback £10.99£8.79

EPUB £9.99£7.99

A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakespeare in Love, from the author of The Libertine.

Elizabeth I is tottering at death's door. Conspirators are everywhere. Lucius Bodkin, an Elizabethan stand-up comedian, becomes unwillingly involved in the political skullduggery and jiggery-pokery surrounding the ailing queen.

The Clink could pass itself off as a long-lost Elizabethan comedy. In fact it is a brilliant political satire offering many sharp parallels with our own times, when art must be sponsored, but to be sponsored it must be 'safe'.

Stephen Jeffreys's play was first staged by Paines Plough in 1990 on tour in Britain and Holland.

The Clink is also available in the collection Stephen Jeffreys: Plays.

Cast: 4f 5m doubling, or 4f 12m

Staging:Minimal set

Amateur rights performance fee: £75 per performance (plus VAT where applicable)

Paperback, 90 pages ISBN: 9781854594440Publication Date:
25 Jun 1999
Size: 198mm x 132mm£10.99 £8.79You save £2.20 (20%)
EPUB, 90 pages ISBN: 9781788500845Publication Date:
2 Aug 2018
£9.99 £7.99You save £2.00 (20%)

Also by Stephen Jeffreys:

Playwriting
A Going Concern
Interruptions
Finsbury Park
The Libertine
I Just Stopped By To See The Man
The Convict's Opera
Stephen Jeffreys: Plays
Valued Friends

Go to author page...

Similar Titles
The world's first ever musical, The Beggar's Opera, is performed on board a creaking convict ship bound for...
A hectic and hilarious morality tale for the modern world.
A fascinating, witty and characteristically exuberant dramatic exploration of the Shakespeare authorship debate.
Ian Kelly’s riotously funny play, based on his award-winning biography of Samuel Foote, explores our obsession with c...
Jessica Swale's play Nell Gwynn charts the rise of an unlikely heroine, from her roots in Coal Yard Alley to...
An incisive critique of life in an age of excess, based on the true story of John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester. This edi...