Modern Drama

This section contains plays written or premiered after 1945.

Showing 253-270 of 1,653 items.

Caryl Churchill Plays: Four

The fourth volume of the collected plays of one of the best playwrights alive.

Caryl Churchill Plays: Three

Spanning almost ten years and embracing a remarkable range of style and subject matter, this is the third volume of Churchill's Collected Plays,

Caryl Churchill: Shorts

Ten short plays by Caryl Churchill, written for stage, radio and TV, selected and introduced by the author.

Cinderella (stage version)

A classic fairy tale with a twist, from the UK's leading author of plays for young audiences.

Cinzano & Smirnova's Birthday

Two linked plays from the Russian playwright dubbed the 'female Chekhov', depicting the grim reality of domestic life in Soviet Russia.

  • Paperback£9.99 £7.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Ciphers

A smart and provocative thriller about spies, double agents, and the opaqueness of the human soul.

Circle Mirror Transformation

A quiet masterpiece tracing the lives of five strangers who come together in a community centre in Vermont, New England, for a series of creative drama classes for adults.

Published in volume The Vermont Plays

    Citysong

    The Verity Bargate Award-winning play about three generations of a Dublin family.

    Citysong and other plays

    The Verity Bargate Award-winning play about three generations of a Dublin family, plus two other plays: Boys and Girls and Drawing Crosses on a Dusty Windowpane.

    A Civil War Christmas

    Set on Christmas Eve during the latter days of the Civil War, this rich and moving play weaves a tapestry of historical characters, period holiday music, marches and spirituals, and tells a story of peaceful companionship and communal hope.

    CLASS

    Funny, heartbreaking and beautifully observed, CLASS is an award-winning play about learning difficulties: in school, in life, wherever.

    The Clean House and other plays

    A collection of plays by the award-winning American playwright Sarah Ruhl, a dramatist with 'a unique comic voice, perspective and sense of theatre' Variety.

    The Clear Road Ahead

    An epic short about rebirth, from the author of Jerusalem and The Ferryman.

    Published in volume Jez Butterworth Plays: Two

      The Clearing

      A powerful play about the effects of Oliver Cromwell's military campaign in Ireland.

      Cling To Me Like Ivy

      A sassy, offbeat comedy-drama about rebelling against your roots.

      The Clink

      A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakespeare in Love, from the author of The Libertine.

      Close Quarters

      A taut, funny and powerful drama about the first generation of female soldiers to serve in the British infantry in close combat.

      Closer to God

      A short play exploring the private worlds of strangers, living side by side but generations apart.