Zawe Ashton

Zawe Ashton is a writer, director and actor.

Her writing and directing credits include short films Lighthouse, The Place We Go To Hide and Happy Toys as well as a short documentary on the artist Lorraine O'Grady that formed part of the Soul of A Nation: Art in the Age of Black Power exhibition at Tate Modern.

Writing credits include: Farrago UK Poetry Slam! Champion (2000), Dream Factor (National Youth Theatre Schools Tour), Have a Butchers, Sweetness and Light (DryWrite), Edible Flowers (DryWrite at Latitude Festival), Girls Aloud (Clean Break Theatre). Zawe's first play Harm's Way was shortlisted for the 2007 Verity Bargate Award and was premiered in 2008 as part of the National Youth Theatre's new writing season at The Lowry, Salford.

Zawe Ashton

Damian Atkins

Damien Atkins is an actor and playwright who was born in Australia and grew up in Edmonton. As author and performer, his work includes the solo shows miss chatelaine, Real Live Girl, and We Are Not Alone, as well as the full-length plays Good Mother, Lucy, and The Mill, Part Four: Ash.

He has been playwright-in-residence at the Canadian Stage Company, Factory Theatre, Crow's Theatre, and at the University of British Columbia. He is the recipient of four Dora Mavor Moore Awards and six additional nominations for acting and writing. Damien is a member of the Theatrefront Ensemble and a former guest instructor at the National Theatre School. He makes his home in Toronto.

The Gay Heritage Project

Eileen Atkins

Eileen Atkins is an English actress and occasional screenwriter. She has worked in the theatre, film, and television consistently since 1953. In 2008, she won the BAFTA TV Award for Best Actress and the Emmy Award for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or Movie for Cranford. She is also a three-time Olivier Award winner, winning Best Supporting Performance in 1988 (for multiple roles) and Best Actress for The Unexpected Man (1999) and Honour (2004). She was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in 1990 and Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) in 2001.

Eileen Atkins
Eileen Atkins on Viola

Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson won the 1995 Whitbread Book of the Year Award with her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum. She is the author of other best-selling novels and Abandonment, her first full-length play, premiered at the Traverse Theatre in 2000.


Mohammad Al Attar

Mohammad Al Attar has been a member of the Theatre Studio Group in Damascus since 2006 and works on a variety of projects as a dramaturg, including productions at the Syrian Opera House.


Kate Attwell

Kate Attwell is a playwright, television writer and devised theatre maker, working between London and New York.

Her plays include Testmatch (American Conservatory Theater, San Francisco, 2019; Orange Tree Theatre / English Touring Theatre / Bolton Octagon, 2024).


Jane Austen

Jane Austen (1775–1817) was an English novelist whose works of romantic fiction set among the landed gentry have earned her a place as one of the most widely read writers in English literature.

Sense and Sensibility
Northanger Abbey
Pride and Prejudice* (*sort of)
Pride and Prejudice* (*sort of)
Northanger Abbey

Josh Azouz

Josh Azouz is a playwright, screenwriter and theatre director. His plays include: Once Upon a Time in Nazi Occupied Tunisia (Almeida Theatre, London, 2021) ;Victoria's Knickers (National Youth Theatre, 2018); Buggy Baby (Yard Theatre, London, 2018); and The Mikvah Project (Yard Theatre, 2015).

Josh Azouz
Buggy Baby & The Mikvah Project: Two Plays
Buggy Baby
The Mikvah Project
Victoria's Knickers
Once Upon A Time in Nazi Occupied Tunisia