A Time to Keep

Cast: 40+ (115 characters) - alternative version 9f 9m

Staging: Flexible staging

Amateur rights performance fee: £75 per performance (plus VAT where applicable)

Paperback, 160 pages ISBN: 9781854595850Publication Date:
1 Nov 2007
Size: 199mm x 130mm£8.99 £7.19You save £1.80 (20%)
First Staged:
Dorchester Community Players, 2007

A Time to Keep

By Stephanie Dale and David Edgar

Paperback £8.99£7.19

A large-scale historical romp in the terrain between Jane Austen and Charles Dickens.

Set against the backdrop of the threatened Napoleonic invasion of 1804, David Edgar and Stephanie Dale's play A Time to Keep is the story of an unlikely but passionate romance between a well-born but feisty young woman and the youngest son of a family of notorious smugglers.

With over 100 characters, from George III and his court to the criminal classes, the play is a rollicking example of the community play, originally written for the Dorchester Community Players but easily adaptable for smaller (and larger!) companies alike.

A revised version of the play, premiered at LAMDA, is also available with a cast of 9f 9m, should you have more modest cast requirements. To view an on-screen copy of this text, please contact the Performing Rights Manager.

Press Quotes

'Beautiful and memorable... theatre at its fundamental level: a shared, imaginative experience, communicated with winning passion'

Guardian

'Wonderfully vivid... a powerful evocation of the way provincial England, far from the madding crowd, is still deeply haunted by its own past'

Sunday Times

Cast: 40+ (115 characters) - alternative version 9f 9m

Staging:Flexible staging

Amateur rights performance fee: £75 per performance (plus VAT where applicable)

Paperback, 160 pages ISBN: 9781854595850Publication Date:
1 Nov 2007
Size: 199mm x 130mm£8.99 £7.19You save £1.80 (20%)

Also by David Edgar:

The Shape of the Table
Mothers Against
If Only
Pentecost
A Christmas Carol (RSC stage version)
Maydays & Trying It On: two plays
Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde (stage version)
How Plays Work
Written on the Heart
Edgar: Shorts
Albert Speer
Maydays (2018 version)
Testing the Echo
Arthur & George (stage version)
The Master Builder
Continental Divide
Daughters of the Revolution
Playing With Fire
The Prisoner's Dilemma
Trying It On

Go to author page...

Similar Titles
A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakesp...
A rollicking tale of adventure set in early Victorian England, ranging from East End squalor to the Northern mills, a...
A thrillingly fast-paced play about youthful disaffection, protest and violence, drawing on the history of the Scuttl...
Ian Kelly’s riotously funny play, based on his award-winning biography of Samuel Foote, explores our obsession with c...
Jessica Swale's play Nell Gwynn charts the rise of an unlikely heroine, from her roots in Coal Yard Alley to...
A loving and irreverent all-female adaptation of Jane Austen's unrivalled literary classic.