A Time to Keep

Cast: 40+ (115 characters) - alternative version 9f 9m

Staging: Flexible staging

Amateur rights performance fee: £75 per performance (plus VAT where applicable)

Paperback, 160 pages ISBN: 9781854595850Publication Date:
1 Nov 2007
Size: 199mm x 130mm£8.99 £7.19You save £1.80 (20%)
First Staged:
Dorchester Community Players, 2007

A Time to Keep

By Stephanie Dale and David Edgar

Paperback £8.99£7.19

A large-scale historical romp in the terrain between Jane Austen and Charles Dickens.

Set against the backdrop of the threatened Napoleonic invasion of 1804, David Edgar and Stephanie Dale's play A Time to Keep is the story of an unlikely but passionate romance between a well-born but feisty young woman and the youngest son of a family of notorious smugglers.

With over 100 characters, from George III and his court to the criminal classes, the play is a rollicking example of the community play, originally written for the Dorchester Community Players but easily adaptable for smaller (and larger!) companies alike.

A revised version of the play, premiered at LAMDA, is also available with a cast of 9f 9m, should you have more modest cast requirements. To view an on-screen copy of this text, please contact the Performing Rights Manager.

Press Quotes

'Beautiful and memorable... theatre at its fundamental level: a shared, imaginative experience, communicated with winning passion'

Guardian

'Wonderfully vivid... a powerful evocation of the way provincial England, far from the madding crowd, is still deeply haunted by its own past'

Sunday Times

Cast: 40+ (115 characters) - alternative version 9f 9m

Staging:Flexible staging

Amateur rights performance fee: £75 per performance (plus VAT where applicable)

Paperback, 160 pages ISBN: 9781854595850Publication Date:
1 Nov 2007
Size: 199mm x 130mm£8.99 £7.19You save £1.80 (20%)

Also by David Edgar:

Written on the Heart
Pentecost
Testing the Echo
Playing With Fire
Edgar: Shorts
Arthur & George (stage version)
Daughters of the Revolution
A Christmas Carol (RSC stage version)
Mothers Against
The Prisoner's Dilemma
Maydays & Trying It On: two plays
Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde (stage version)
Albert Speer
Maydays (2018 version)
If Only
How Plays Work
Continental Divide
The Shape of the Table
Trying It On
The Master Builder

Go to author page...

Similar Titles
A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakesp...
A rollicking tale of adventure set in early Victorian England, ranging from East End squalor to the Northern mills, a...
A thrillingly fast-paced play about youthful disaffection, protest and violence, drawing on the history of the Scuttl...
Ian Kelly’s riotously funny play, based on his award-winning biography of Samuel Foote, explores our obsession with c...
Jessica Swale's play Nell Gwynn charts the rise of an unlikely heroine, from her roots in Coal Yard Alley to...
A loving and irreverent all-female adaptation of Jane Austen's unrivalled literary classic.