Brenton, Munro and Placey nominated at Writers Guild Awards

Thursday, December 04, 2014

The nominees for the Writers' Guild of Great Britain Awards 2014 were announced today (4 December), with Nick Hern Books authors Howard Brenton, Rona Munro and Evan Placey all shortlisted in playwriting categories.

Doctor Scroggy's War by Howard Brenton is nominated for Best Play. First seen at Shakespeare's Globe, London, in September 2014, this epic, hilarious and moving play takes a sideways look at the First World War. It was described by the Telegraph as 'compelling... [a] big, warm, perceptive play'.

Also shortlisted in the Best Play category is James I, part of Rona Munro's The James Plays. Co-produced by the National Theatre of Scotland, this vividly imagined trilogy, which brings to life three generations of Stewart kings who ruled Scotland in the tumultuous fifteenth century, premiered at the Festival Theatre, Edinburgh, in August as part of the Edinburgh International Festival. It later transferred to the National Theatre, London, in September. The trilogy was named Best New Play at the Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2014.

Evan Placey's Girls Like That, which explores of the pressures on young people today in the wake of advancing technology, is nominated for Best Play for Young Audiences. First premiered by youth theatre groups in Birmingham, Leeds and Plymouth, the play was staged at the Unicorn Theatre, London, in November 2014. The Guardian called it an 'eye-opening, often uncomfortably honest play... deserves to be widely seen by teenage audiences. And by their parents too.' Author Mike Kenny is also nominated in the same category for his play The Boy Who Cried Wolf.

A number of other NHB authors are shortlisted for their work in other mediums at the Awards. Stefan Golaszewski is nominated in the TV Situation Comedy category for Him and Her, Lee Mattinson is shorlisted for Radio Drama for Mapgie, while Stephen Beresford is nominated for Best First Screenplay for Pride.

The winners of the Writers' Guild Awards will be announced at a ceremony on 19 January.

  • Girls Like That
  • Doctor Scroggy's War