Bach & Sons
Paperback, 104 pages ISBN: 9781839040139Publication Date:
24 Jun 2021
Size: 198mm x 129mm£9.99 £7.99You save £2.00 (20%)
EPUB, 104 pages ISBN: 9781788503907Publication Date:
24 Jun 2021
£9.99 £7.99You save £2.00 (20%)
First Staged:
Bridge Theatre, London, 2021

Bach & Sons

By Nina Raine

Paperback £9.99£7.99

EPUB £9.99£7.99

Johann Sebastian Bach, irascible and turbulent, writes music of sensuous delight and deep religious fervour. He's touchy, he's fabulously rude, he has impossibly high standards (he stabs a bassoonist for playing badly), and he's constantly in trouble with his patrons.

Music is the family business – but the burden of their father's genius weighs heavily on his sons. Wilhelm is brilliant but self-destructive. Tense, industrious Carl is more successful than his father, but knows he is less talented. As the years pass, their rivalry provokes furious arguments about love, God and above all music. What is it for – to give pleasure, like a cup of coffee in the sun, or to reveal the divine order that gives life its meaning?

Beautiful, profound and funny, Nina Raine's play Bach & Sons is a gripping family drama and an anthem to the art that draws us together and sings of our common humanity. It premiered at the Bridge Theatre, London, in June 2021, directed by Nicholas Hytner, with Simon Russell Beale playing J. S. Bach.

Press Quotes

'Fascinating... volcanic stuff as sweary, sensual Bach is brought to life'

The Times

'[Bach is a] magnificent monster... a family drama filled with envy, greed, rage and lust'

Evening Standard

'Nina Raine's new play is typically sly, in the know and phenomenally eloquent'

Independent

'A bold play of ideas, but also an invitation to tears... stirring and unmissable'

Telegraph
Paperback, 104 pages ISBN: 9781839040139Publication Date:
24 Jun 2021
Size: 198mm x 129mm£9.99 £7.99You save £2.00 (20%)
EPUB, 104 pages ISBN: 9781788503907Publication Date:
24 Jun 2021
£9.99 £7.99You save £2.00 (20%)

Also by Nina Raine:

Tiger Country
Rabbit
Stories
Tribes
Consent
The Drunks

Go to author page...

Similar Titles
A brilliant and painfully truthful portrait of Stanley Spencer, the wayward genius of modern British painting.
A play about a washed-up family business, from the author of The Libertine.
A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakesp...
A powerful, witty and moving play exploring the dark interplay between sexuality and creativity.
A moving portrait of the young Vincent van Gogh - a hit in the West End and on Broadway.
Jessica Swale's play Nell Gwynn charts the rise of an unlikely heroine, from her roots in Coal Yard Alley to...