Diane Flacks

Diane Flacks is a Canadian writer and actor. Her plays include: Unholy; Bear With Me; Random Acts; Myth Me; Waiting Room; By a Thread; Gravity Calling; Luba, Simply, Luba and Theory of Relatives, as well as SIBS and Care written with Richard Greenblatt.


Peter Flannery

Peter Flannery was writer in residence at the Royal Shakespeare Company in 1979-1980. His plays first staged by the RSC include Singer, which originally starred Antony Sher, and won the Time Out Best Play Award in 1989, and was subsequently revived by the Oxford Stage Company in 2004, starring Ron Cook; Our Friends in the North, winner of the 1982 John Whiting Award; Savage Amusement, which won the Best Play Award at the National Student Drama Festival, 1978. Other theatre includes The Bodies, adapted from Émile Zola’s Thérèse Raquin for Live Theatre, Newcastle, in 2005. Television and film work includes The Devil’s Whore (Channel 4, 2008); George Gently, adapted from the novels by Alan Hunter (BBC One, 2007); The One and Only (Pathé, 2003); Our Friends in the North (BBC Two, 1996), based on his original stage play, winner of the Writers’ Guild Award for Best Original Drama Serial, the Broadcasting Press Guild Award for Writer of the Year, the BAFTA for Best Drama Serial and the Royal Television Society Writers’ Award; Funny Bones with Peter Chelsom (Hollywood Pictures, 1995); Shoot the Revolution (BBC Two, 1990); and Blind Justice (BBC Two, 1988), winner of the Royal Television Society Award for Best Series and the Samuel Beckett Award.

Burnt by the Sun

Gustave Flaubert

Gustave Flaubert (12 December 1821—8 May 1880) was a French novelist, considered the preeminent exponent of the realist school of French literature and best known for his masterpiece, Madame Bovary (1857), a realistic portrayal of bourgeois life, which led to a trial on charges of the novel's alleged immorality.

Gustave Flaubert
Madame Bovary: Breakfast with Emma
The Massive Tragedy of Madame Bovary

John Fletcher

John Fletcher (1579–1625) was a Jacobean playwright who wrote prolifically for London's theatres for at least 20 years, and followed William Shakespeare as house playwright for the King's Men.

The Custom of the Country
The Island Princess
The Tamer Tamed

Beth Flintoff

Beth Flintoff is a playwright, dramaturg and theatre director.

Her plays include: A Christmas Carol (Reading Rep, 2021/22); The Ballad of Maria Marten (Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough, and UK tour, 2020/21); The World We Made (Warwick Arts Centre, 2019); The Glove Thief (2017, commissioned by Tonic Theatre Company as part of their Platform scheme in association with Nick Hern Books); Matilda the Empress (Reading Between the Lines, Reading, 2017); and Greenham: One Hundred Years of War and Peace (a large-scale site specific performance piece performed on Greenham Common in September 2017).

She is currently an Associate Artist at Rabble Theatre Company, for whom she has written plays including Henry I, Matilda the Empress, Henry II, and The Last Abbot.

Previously she was the founding Artistic Director of new-writing fringe ensemble Debut Theatre Company, and was Outreach Director at The Watermill Theatre in Berkshire.

Author photo by Ian Legge.

Beth Flintoff
The Glove Thief
The Ballad of Maria Marten

Dario Fo

Dario Fo (1926–2016) was an Italian playwright, actor, theatre director, stage designer, songwriter, political campaigner for the Italian left wing and the recipient of the 1997 Nobel Prize in Literature.

His plays include Mistero Buffo, Accidental Death of an Anarchist (co-written with his wife, Franca Rame) and Can't Pay? Won't Pay!

Accidental Death of an Anarchist
Accidental Death of an Anarchist

Giles Foden

Giles Foden is an English author whose novels include The Last King of Scotland (published 1998).

The Last King of Scotland

Tim Foley

Tim Foley is a British playwright based in Manchester.

His work includes: Driftwood (Pentabus/Thickskin, 2023); Electric Rosary (winner of the 2017 Bruntwood Prize Judges' Award; premiered at the Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester, in 2022); Astronauts of Hartlepool (2017 VAULT Festival, winner of the VAULT Origins Award for Outstanding New Work); and The Dogs of War (Old Red Lion Theatre, 2015).

He won the 2016 OffWestEnd award for Most Promising New Playwright for his play The Dogs of War.

Electric Rosary