The Libertine
Paperback, 128 pages ISBN: 9781848423879Publication Date:
1 May 2014
Size: 198mm x 129mm£9.99 £7.99You save £2.00 (20%)
First Staged:
Out of Joint UK tour, 1994, including Royal Court Theatre

The Libertine

By Stephen Jeffreys

Paperback £9.99£7.99

A historical romp with real bite, Stephen Jeffreys's The Libertine has received several major stage productions and was filmed with Johnny Depp and John Malkovich.

John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester, is the Libertine. Poet. Friend and confidant of Charles II. Notorious rake. An anti-monarchist Royalist, an atheist converted to Christianity, his contradictory morals are never more tested than when he falls in love with the actress Elizabeth Barry.

Thoroughly modern in its attitude to Rochester’s sexual indulgence, with all the wit, flair and bawdiness of a Restoration comedy, the play is an incisive critique of an age of excess.

Originally performed on stage at the Royal Court Theatre in 1994 as part of Out of Joint's UK tour, The Libertine was given its American premiere by Chicago’s Steppenwolf Theatre Company, was adapted for radio, and became a film starring Johnny Depp and John Malkovich. This edition of the play was published alongside the production at Citizens Theatre, Glasgow, in 2014.

Included in this edition is Mickey Gallagher's music for the original Out of Joint tour.

The Libertine is also available in the collection Stephen Jeffreys: Plays.

Paperback, 128 pages ISBN: 9781848423879Publication Date:
1 May 2014
Size: 198mm x 129mm£9.99 £7.99You save £2.00 (20%)

Also by Stephen Jeffreys:

The Clink
The Libertine (2016 edition)
Valued Friends
A Going Concern
Stephen Jeffreys: Plays
Interruptions
The Convict's Opera
I Just Stopped By To See The Man
Finsbury Park

Go to author page...

Similar Titles
A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakesp...
The best comedy of manners written in England before Congreve, The Man of Mode was first staged in 1676 and...
A fable of free market economics and cut-throat capitalism.
Ian Kelly’s riotously funny play, based on his award-winning biography of Samuel Foote, explores our obsession with c...
Jessica Swale's play Nell Gwynn charts the rise of an unlikely heroine, from her roots in Coal Yard Alley to...
The story of the great comedian Molière - his scandalous marriage, his scurrilous plays and the irresistible creation...