NHB plays and authors triumph at Evening Standard Theatre Awards

Monday, December 04, 2017

The winners of this year's Evening Standard Theatre Awards were announced yesterday (Sunday 3 December), with NHB plays and authors triumphing across a range of categories.

The Ferryman by Jez Butterworth was the night's big winner, scooping Best Play, Best Director (Sam Mendes) and the Emerging Talent Award (Tom Glynn-Carney). in this thunderous drama, set in County Armagh, Northern Ireland, in 1981, the Carney family's traditional harvest celebrations are interrupted by the arrival of a visitor, whose shocking news threatens to unravel all they've built. First seen at the Royal Court earlier this year, the play is currently running at the Gielgud Theatre, where it has recently extended until May 2018.

Branden Jacobs-Jenkins was honoured with the Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright for An Octoroon, his dazzlingly inventive comedy which draws on Dion Boucicault's 1859 original melodrama to explore issues about race and identity in America today. After receiving its European premiere at the Orange Tree Theatre, Richmond, An Octoroon will transfer to the National Theatre in 2018.


Elsewhere, Andrew Garfield is shortlisted for his performance as Prior Walter in the National Theatre's acclaimed revival of Tony Kushner's epic Angels in America. The production will transfer to Broadway in February 2018.

The winners of the Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2017 were announced at a ceremony at Theatre Royal Drury Lane, hosted by actor, Fleabag creator/star and NHB author Phoebe Waller-Bridge. To see the full list of winners, visit the Evening Standard website.

NHB plays and authors triumph at Evening Standard Theatre Awards
  • An Octoroon
  • The Ferryman
  • Angels in America