Modern Drama

This section contains plays written or premiered after 1945.

Showing 271-288 of 1,707 items.

CLASS

Funny, heartbreaking and beautifully observed, CLASS is an award-winning play about learning difficulties: in school, in life, wherever.

The Clean House and other plays

A collection of plays by the award-winning American playwright Sarah Ruhl, a dramatist with 'a unique comic voice, perspective and sense of theatre' Variety.

The Clear Road Ahead

An epic short about rebirth, from the author of Jerusalem and The Ferryman.

Published in volume Jez Butterworth Plays: Two

    The Clearing

    A powerful play about the effects of Oliver Cromwell's military campaign in Ireland.

    The Climbers

    A mesmerising and thrilling play about the lure of the mountains, the drive to conquer and the price of staying alive.

    • Paperback£10.99 £8.79
    • EPUB£10.99 £8.79
      Available soon

    Cling To Me Like Ivy

    A sassy, offbeat comedy-drama about rebelling against your roots.

    The Clink

    A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakespeare in Love, from the author of The Libertine.

    Close Quarters

    A taut, funny and powerful drama about the first generation of female soldiers to serve in the British infantry in close combat.

    Closer to God

    A short play exploring the private worlds of strangers, living side by side but generations apart.

    Closing Time

    McCafferty's break-through play, a tender and comic portrait of love, dignity and emotional damage.

    • Paperback£7.99 £6.39
      There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.
    • EPUB£7.99 £6.39

    Cloud Nine

    A landmark play about sexual politics in colonial Africa and modern-day Britain, in which all our assumptions about sex and gender are stunningly exploded.

    Clybourne Park

    An acerbically brilliant satire that explores the fault line between race and property.

    Coastal Disturbances: Four Plays

    Four plays by Tina Howe: Coastal Disturbances, Museum, The Art of Dining and Painting Churches.

    • Paperback£16.99
      There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

    Cock

    A playful, candid look at one man’s sexuality and the difficulties that arise when you realise you have a choice.

    • Paperback£10.99
      There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

    Cockroach

    A dark and compelling vision of a world infected by violence.

    Cold Comfort

    A powerful monologue about an Irish labourer living in London who returns home to Belfast to have a last, drunken 'conversation' with his recently dead father.

    Published in volume Singular Male Voices

      Cold Meat Party

      A play about a group of former friends reuniting in a B&B for a funeral.

      Collapsible

      A funny, furious monologue about holding on in this collapsing world.