Modern Drama

This section contains plays written or premiered after 1945.

Showing 145-162 of 1,724 items.

The Monument

A powerful play exploring the ambiguities of morality and justice in a time of war when a young soldier is convicted of war crimes.

  • Paperback£16.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

The Collected Short Plays of Thornton Wilder: Volume I

Thornton Wilder's short plays, published for the first time in two volumes.

  • Paperback£24.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Pride's Crossing

A play about Mabel Tidings Bigelow, who at the age of 26 set the world record for swimming the English Channel.

  • Paperback£12.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Just the Three of Us

A stylish mix of the comic and the macabre, exploring ideas about love, both platonic and romantic.

  • Paperback£8.99 £7.19
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Trust

A play about the bonds of trust in a tight-knit Loyalist community, and how easily they are shattered, from the multi-award winning writer of The Force of Change.

  • Paperback£9.99 £7.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

This is a Chair

A short play about the surreal nature of modern life.

  • Paperback£5.99 £4.79
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.
  • EPUB£5.99 £4.79

Two for the Show

Scenes for student actors

Edited by Brian Kennedy

A fascinating collection of short scenes for two actors. Drawn from the work of Canada's premiere playwrights, the thirty-nine different scenes have been chosen by an experienced drama teacher, with easy directions and theatre terms explained.

The Clink

A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakespeare in Love, from the author of The Libertine.

Last Dance at Dum Dum

A serious comedy from the author of East is East, about the dying breed of Anglo-Indians living in Calcutta in 1985.

  • Paperback£8.99 £7.19
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Arabian Nights (Young Vic stage version)

A simple and delightfully inventive re-telling of the stories from the Arabian Nights.

Riddance

A chilling emotional thriller about two men and a woman bound together by the secrets of surviving a childhood in a Glasgow tenement.

Spanish Plays

A collection of modern Spanish and Catalan plays in translations by practising English playwrights, commissioned and first staged by the Royal Court Theatre.

  • Paperback£14.99 £11.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.
  • EPUB£14.99 £11.99

The Deep Blue Sea

Written in the early fifties when Rattigan was at the height of his powers, The Deep Blue Sea is a powerful account of lives blighted by love - or the lack of it.

Separate Tables

Two linked one-act plays set in a run-down residential hotel in Bournemouth.

The Winslow Boy

Rattigan's 1946 play based on the real-life court case of a young naval cadet unjustly accused of stealing a five-shilling postal order.

King of the Fields

A play set in Ayrshire after the First World War, with touches of Ibsen - from the acclaimed Scottish playwright.

  • Paperback£7.99 £6.39
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

The Adventures of a Young Black Girl in Search of God

Rainey Baldwin-Jackson, a country doctor, struggles to come to terms with the loss of her daughter, the disintegration of her marriage, and an eccentric elderly father on an astonishing crusade.

Culture Clash: Life, Death and Revolutionary Comedy

Three plays from the award-winning Latino comedy trio.

  • Paperback£15.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.