Modern Drama

This section contains plays written or premiered after 1945.

Showing 145-162 of 1,536 items.

The Monument

A powerful play exploring the ambiguities of morality and justice in a time of war when a young soldier is convicted of war crimes.

  • Paperback£16.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

The Collected Short Plays of Thornton Wilder

Volume I

Thornton Wilder's short plays, published for the first time in two volumes.

  • Paperback£18.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Pride's Crossing

In Pride's Crossing, Tina Howe has created a remarkable heroine for the nineties: Mabel Tidings Bigelow, who at the age of 26 set the world record for swimming the English Channel.

  • Paperback£12.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Just the Three of Us

A stylish mix of the comic and the macabre, exploring ideas about love, both platonic and romantic.

  • Paperback£8.99 £7.19
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Trust

A play about the bonds of trust in a tight-knit Loyalist community, and how easily they are shattered, from the multi-award winning writer of The Force of Change.

  • Paperback£9.99 £7.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

This is a Chair

A short play about the surreal nature of modern life.

  • Paperback£5.99 £4.79
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.
  • EPUB£5.99 £4.79

The Clink

A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakespeare in Love, from the author of The Libertine.

Last Dance at Dum Dum

A serious comedy from the author of East is East, about the dying breed of Anglo-Indians living in Calcutta in 1985.

  • Paperback£8.99 £7.19
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Arabian Nights (Young Vic version)

A simple and delightfully inventive re-telling of the stories from the Arabian Nights.

Riddance

A chilling emotional thriller about two men and a woman bound together by the secrets of surviving a childhood in a Glasgow tenement.

Spanish Plays

A collection of modern Spanish and Catalan plays in translations by practising English playwrights, commissioned and first staged by the Royal Court Theatre.

  • Paperback£14.99 £11.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.
  • EPUB£14.99 £11.99

Caresses

By Sergi Belbel Translated by John London

An acclaimed Catalan drama that presesnt a disturbing picture of contemporary Western society set against a background of urban alienation and violence.

Published in volume Spanish Plays

    The Scorched Garden

    By Juan Mayorga Translated by Nick Darke

    A play about a group of inmates who have been locked up in a mental hospital since the Spanish Civil War.

    Published in volume Spanish Plays

      Bazaar

      By David Planell Translated by John Clifford

      A play by young Spanish dramatist David Planell, about the hilarious attempt to get an accident video shown on TV, releasing undercurrents of racism in society.

      Published in volume Spanish Plays

        Bleeding Heart

        A short dark comedy from Spain, in which a naive middle-aged transvestite encounters a petty thief nicknamed 'sour face'.

        Published in volume Spanish Plays

          Roundabout

          A play about obsession and delusion, by a major Spanish dramatist.

          Published in volume Spanish Plays

            Wolf Kisses

            A luminous tale from Spain, about a young woman who returns to her rural village home to await her Parisian lover.

            Published in volume Spanish Plays

              The Deep Blue Sea

              Written in the early fifties when Rattigan was at the height of his powers, The Deep Blue Sea is a powerful account of lives blighted by love - or the lack of it.