Modern Drama

This section contains plays written or premiered after 1945.

Showing 145-162 of 1,566 items.

The Monument

A powerful play exploring the ambiguities of morality and justice in a time of war when a young soldier is convicted of war crimes.

  • Paperback£16.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

The Collected Short Plays of Thornton Wilder

Volume I

Thornton Wilder's short plays, published for the first time in two volumes.

  • Paperback£18.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Pride's Crossing

In Pride's Crossing, Tina Howe has created a remarkable heroine for the nineties: Mabel Tidings Bigelow, who at the age of 26 set the world record for swimming the English Channel.

  • Paperback£12.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Just the Three of Us

A stylish mix of the comic and the macabre, exploring ideas about love, both platonic and romantic.

  • Paperback£8.99 £7.19
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Trust

A play about the bonds of trust in a tight-knit Loyalist community, and how easily they are shattered, from the multi-award winning writer of The Force of Change.

  • Paperback£9.99 £7.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

This is a Chair

A short play about the surreal nature of modern life.

  • Paperback£5.99 £4.79
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.
  • EPUB£5.99 £4.79

The Clink

A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakespeare in Love, from the author of The Libertine.

Last Dance at Dum Dum

A serious comedy from the author of East is East, about the dying breed of Anglo-Indians living in Calcutta in 1985.

  • Paperback£8.99 £7.19
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Arabian Nights (Young Vic version)

A simple and delightfully inventive re-telling of the stories from the Arabian Nights.

Riddance

A chilling emotional thriller about two men and a woman bound together by the secrets of surviving a childhood in a Glasgow tenement.

Spanish Plays

A collection of modern Spanish and Catalan plays in translations by practising English playwrights, commissioned and first staged by the Royal Court Theatre.

  • Paperback£14.99 £11.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.
  • EPUB£14.99 £11.99

The Deep Blue Sea

Written in the early fifties when Rattigan was at the height of his powers, The Deep Blue Sea is a powerful account of lives blighted by love - or the lack of it.

Separate Tables

Two linked one-act plays set in a run-down residential hotel in Bournemouth.

The Winslow Boy

Rattigan's 1946 play based on the real-life court case of a young naval cadet unjustly accused of stealing a five-shilling postal order.

King of the Fields

A play set in Ayrshire after the First World War, with touches of Ibsen - from the acclaimed Scottish playwright.

  • Paperback£7.99 £6.39
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

The Adventures of a Young Black Girl in Search of God

Rainey Baldwin-Jackson, a country doctor, struggles to come to terms with the loss of her daughter, the disintegration of her marriage, and an eccentric elderly father on an astonishing crusade.

  • Paperback£18.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Culture Clash: Life, Death and Revolutionary Comedy

Three plays from the award-winning Latino comedy trio.

  • Paperback£15.99
    There is limited availability of this title. Please enquire before placing your order.

Golden Child

David Hwang invokes the age in which his great grandfather broke with Confucian tradition by converting to Christianity and unbinding his daughter's feet. Golden Child explores the impact of these momentous decisions  on succeeding generations.