The Libertine (2016 edition)
Paperback, 120 pages ISBN: 9781848425750Publication Date:
1 Sep 2016
Size: 198mm x 129mm£9.99 £7.99You save £2.00 (20%)
EPUB, 120 pages ISBN: 9781780014647Publication Date:
1 Sep 2016
£9.99 £7.99You save £2.00 (20%)
First Staged:
Out of Joint tour, 1994

The Libertine (2016 edition)

By Stephen Jeffreys

Paperback £9.99£7.99

EPUB £9.99£7.99

John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester. Charismatic poet, playwright and rake with a legendary appetite for excess. Yet when a chance encounter with an actress at the Playhouse sends him reeling, he is forced to reconsider everything he thinks and feels.

With all the wit, flair and bawdiness of a Restoration comedy, Stephen Jeffreys’ brilliant play is an incisive critique of life in an age of excess.

Originally performed at the Royal Court Theatre in 1994, The Libertine has been staged around the world, was adapted for radio, and became a film. This edition of the play was published alongside the 2016 production at the Theatre Royal Bath and Theatre Royal Haymarket, directed by Terry Johnson and starring Dominic Cooper as Wilmot.

The Libertine is also available in the collection Stephen Jeffreys: Plays.

‘I am up for it. All the time. That’s not a boast. Or an opinion. It is bone-hard medical fact.’


Press Quotes

'the dialogue burns with a lusty vigour... the storytelling is confident and compelling... it's perfect, it's profound, and it's fun too'

The Arts Desk

'Captures the zesty backstage politics of Restoration theatre… an invigorating, warts-and-all portrait of a self-destructive sceptic'

Guardian

'sumptuous, silly, rude, poetic'

The Times
Paperback, 120 pages ISBN: 9781848425750Publication Date:
1 Sep 2016
Size: 198mm x 129mm£9.99 £7.99You save £2.00 (20%)
EPUB, 120 pages ISBN: 9781780014647Publication Date:
1 Sep 2016
£9.99 £7.99You save £2.00 (20%)

Also by Stephen Jeffreys:

The Libertine
Stephen Jeffreys: Plays
I Just Stopped By To See The Man
A Going Concern
The Clink
Valued Friends
The Convict's Opera
Finsbury Park
Interruptions
Playwriting

Go to author page...

Similar Titles
A riotously funny satirical farce in the tradition of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead and Shakesp...
The best comedy of manners written in England before Congreve, The Man of Mode was first staged in 1676 and...
A fable of free market economics and cut-throat capitalism.
A historical romp with real bite, Stephen Jeffreys's The Libertine has received several major stage producti...
Ian Kelly’s riotously funny play, based on his award-winning biography of Samuel Foote, explores our obsession with c...
Jessica Swale's play Nell Gwynn charts the rise of an unlikely heroine, from her roots in Coal Yard Alley to...