Billy Roche

Billy Roche is an Irish playwright, screenwriter and author. Born in Wexford, he worked as an actor and a singer before turning to writing in the 1980s.

His plays include the acclaimed Wexford Trilogy, comprising A Handful of Stars (1988), Poor Beast in the Rain (1989) and Belfry (1990), which won him numerous awards in both Ireland and Britain. Other plays include: Amphibians (1992), The Cavalcaders (1993), On Such As We (2001) and Lay Me Down Softly (2008).

His prose works include the novel Tumbling Down (1986) and the short story collection Tales From Rainwater Pond (2006).

His work for the screen includes his IFTA-nominated, four-part TV series Clean Break, which premiered on RTE in 2015.